JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 774

Monday, 18 January 2016 16:34

Media reminded to enter SADC Media Awards

Written by

The Government Communication and Information System (GCIS) on Monday reiterated its call to members of the media to submit their entries for the 2016 SADC Media Awards Competition.

The competition, which also consists of the Water Media Awards, is aimed at recognising stories that promote Integrated Water Resource Management (IWRM) in the Southern African Development Community (SADC) region.

The objective of the awards is to promote regional integration and cooperation, with the broader aim of recognising excellence in journalism. They are also aimed at encouraging media practitioners in SADC member states to cover issues pertaining to the region.

The competition has four categories namely print, photojournalism, television and radio.

“The SADC Media Awards were established in 1996 following a decision by the Council of Ministers to establish a sector that deals with matters relating to, among others, information, culture and sport.

“These awards serve as part of ensuring a link, coordination and synchronisation between the formal structures of SADC governments, civil society, academia, labour and the media,” the GCIS said.

The closing date for entries is 29 February 2016.

Journalists who wish to enter the competition can access more information about the competition, including competition rules, from the GCIS website.

Entries need to be posted or delivered to MDDA or GCIS offices.


Last modified on Monday, 18 January 2016 16:43